Therapeutic Eye Pillow

One of the goodies I put in my Homemade Pampering Gift Baskets was a Therapeutic Eye Pillow. All of the women in my family (including me) get a lot of headaches :-(, so I thought a soothing eye pillow would be a nice gift. I’ve seen a few tutorials for creating hot rice packs and eye pillows on Pinterest, so I thought I would try my spin at them. I had great success making neck warmers last Christmas, so this would be even simpler. This project should take you about 15-20 minutes to complete.

Materials

  • Sewing machine
  • Scissors
  • Satin fabric (or the fabric of your choice. Cotton or flannel will work well)
  • Matching thread
  • 1/4 cup dried lavender
  • 1 cup of grains (rice, dried corn (not for making popcorn), buckwheat, lentils, or beans)
  • 1/4 cup dried chamomile flowers
  • 15 drops of lavender essential oil
  • Mixing bowl
  • Spoon
  • Funnel (optional)

Cut two rectangles from your fabric that measures 5.25″ x 10.25″. I used my rotary cutter. Mine were a little crooked. Oh well…

DSCF5791
Next sew up all three sides and part of the way on the fourth (short) side using a 1/2 seam allowance. Leave enough room on the fourth side to get your spoon and filling in. 
DSCF5794

Clip the corners and turn right side out.

DSCF5795

DSCF5797

Time to make your filling. Mix all your ingredients together, adding your essential oil in last so it can coat everything evenly. You can do any combination of herbs and scents. I just happened to have chamomile and lavender around.

DSCF5789

Now you’re ready to fill your eye pillow. You can use your spoon or a funnel if you have one lying around.

DSCF5798

Once you have your pillow filled, sew up the open end by folding in the raw edges. Backstitch on the edges.

Therapeutic Eye Pillow

Ta dah! You’re done and ready to do some relaxing. You can use them as is and experience the cool relief from the satin or heat them in the microwave for 20-30 seconds. I wouldn’t heat these up too often because heating will make the sent of the herbs and oils fade more quickly. When not in use, I like to store mine in my dresser with my unmentionables 🙂

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

