Luxury Lip Balm–My Knockoff of Burt’s Bees

Winter time is always rough on my skin. I have to break out the big guns of extra healing moisturizers and such. This year, I’ve been going the “au naturel” route and have started to switch out my commercial moisturizers for homemade ones. Next, I’m looking to create a face cream for my sensitive skin. I’m loving the whipped shea butter and coconut oil body butter I made in my Homemade Pampering Gift Baskets.

One thing I can never be without is my Burt’s Bees lip balm. I have them stashed everywhere. I have one in my purse, night table, and my desk drawer at work. It’s the only thing that has ever really kept my lips moisturized and at $2.99 a pop, I use them until I can’t scrape any more out of the tube.

In keeping with all things handmade, I made a luxury lip balm for my family and friend’s gift baskets. The first recipe turned out alright. It had more of a glossy feel. My friends and family liked it, but I was after more of that thick, balm feeling. I tried again and came up with a recipe I’m calling a keeper. I’m sharing both with you so you can pick the one you like best.

Ingredients

DSCF5849DSCF5860

For a Firm Balm–My personal favorite. It feels very close to Burt’s Bees lip balm.

  • 0.4 oz mango butter (can sub with coconut oil or shea butter)
  • 0.5 oz avocado oil (can sub with apricot kernel or olive oil)
  • 0.3 oz cocoa butter
  • 0.8 oz beeswax
  • 25 drops of Peppermint Essential Oil
  • 5 drops of Rosemary Essential Oil

For a Glossy “Balm”

  • 0.5 oz mango butter (can sub with coconut oil or shea butter)
  • 0.8 oz avocado oil (can sub with apricot kernel or olive oil)
  • 0.3 oz cocoa butter
  • 0.4 oz beeswax
  • 25 drops of Peppermint Essential Oil
  • 5 drops of Rosemary Essential Oil

You’ll also need 10 lip balm tubes and a 1/2 cup measuring cup to place them in. It makes it easier to pour into them.

Directions

1. Weigh your ingredients into a tempered glass container. I recommend a tempered glass measuring cup to make pouring easier.

DSCF5852

2. Place the measuring cup into a small pot filled with enough water to come half-way up the side of the container. You can also make a double boiler with a small glass bowl, it will just be more difficult to pour the oils.

DSCF5853

3. Heat over medium-low heat until the oils melt. Turn off the heat and stir in your peppermint and rosemary oils.
DSCF5855

4. Using an oven mit, lift the container out of the pot and pour into your lip balm tubes. The measuring cup will hold them all upright and if you spill any, it drips down into the cup. 🙂 When filling them, wait for them to “burp” up an air bubble and fill them to the top.

DSCF5857

 

5. Let them set on the counter overnight. You can also speed up the process by sticking them in the fridge, although they don’t take that long to firm up.

DSCF5863

6. When they have hardened, scrape off any excess bits off the outside of the lip balm tube and wipe them down with a paper towel.

DSCF5865

 

All done! You’re ready to enjoy your homemade lip balm! You can add a fun label to customize them like I did. Brambleberry has a free template here.

Which recipe do you like best?

 

2 thoughts on “Luxury Lip Balm–My Knockoff of Burt’s Bees

Leave a Reply

