Gilded Pretzel Necklace

A while back, I was watching an episode of Sex and the City and fell in love with Carrie’s pretzel necklace. I had to have one, so I set out to make my own. I’ll be honest, I made the pretzel shapes over a year ago and just got around to spray painting them. Factoring out the inexcusable laziness, this craft is quick and easy. You should be able to get this done in a few hours. Here’s what you’ll need:

Gilded Pretzel

Take your clay and work it until it’s nice and pliable  Shape it into a pretzel. You can do a single or double twist.

Simple Twist

IMG_0060IMG_0061IMG_0062IMG_0063

Single Twist

IMG_0060IMG_0061IMG_0064IMG_0066

I chose a simple twist for this necklace. Bake and cool according to package directions.

Pin the shape to the piece of cardboard so they don’t blow around when you spray paint them. As you can see, I was working on some other projects too :-).

IMG_0009

Next grab your spray paint of choice and give each side two to three coats. Dry between coats according to package directions. I had my boyfriend spray them outside in a box to keep the paint from blowing everywhere.

IMG_0011

Once they’re dry you’re ready to turn them into a necklace.

IMG_0049

Grab your chain and thread it through the two loops at the top of the pretzel. Voila!

Finished Gilded Pretzel

I can’t wait to show you what I did with the other charms. I’m also looking forward to making other polymer clay goodies :-).

Update 1/26 –> Check out my newest polymer clay pretzel necklace here.

11 thoughts on “Gilded Pretzel Necklace

Leave a Reply

