Another Fun Pretzel Necklace–With a Twist (Pun Intended)!

By now, you may be wondering if I have a thing for pretzels. Not really. Well, kind of. I do enjoy making homemade ones and have kind of a weak spot for Auntie Anne’s cinnamon sugar pretzels, but really  it’s because I couldn’t stop the fun after creating the Gilded Pretzel Necklace. I had to show you my original creation–my realistic polymer clay pretzel with REAL SALT (that’s the twist part :-))!

IMG_0167

I originally made this necklace a few years ago. Whenever I have it on it always initiates conversation, usually starting off something like, “Is that a real pretzel you’re wearing!?” I love that it’s quirky, reflects my love of food, and shows off my skills and creativity as a crafter. Imagine all the conversations you can start with people just by wearing this little necklace.

IMG_0169

My pretzel necklace made its debut at work last week and one of our student workers commented on how she’d love to have one of her own. I told her I’d make one for her, partially because I thought it was cool that someone wanted something I made, but also so that I could show all of you.

Here’s what you’ll need to make one of your own:

IMG_0155

Supplies

  • Acrylic paint in a baked pretzel color (I mixed three colors to get the right one)
  • Small paint brush
  • Toothpick
  • Waxed paper
  • Kosher salt
  • Clear nail polish
  • Small piece of cardboard
  • Shellac spray paint (or clear gloss spray paint)
  • Polymer clay pretzel (not pictured, see my post about making clay pretzels here)

Directions

1. After you’ve created your pretzel shape. Pour your paint onto the waxed paper. If you’re mixing colors go ahead and mix it right on the waxed paper. I mixed a small amount of brown and yellow into my toffee color to get the right tone. If you’re mixing colors, it’s best to make more than you think you’ll need so you don’t have to mix more and end up with a different shade.

IMG_0140 IMG_0142IMG_0143

2. Next paint your pretzel using the small paint brush. You could certainly use a brown/tan polymer clay and skip this step, but I have a ton of white clay so I went with that.

IMG_0146

I got out a real pretzel for color inspiration :-). I did about 4 coats on each side of my pretzel.

IMG_0139

Let dry between coats. The paint starts to dry more quickly after the second thin coat. I used the toothpick the hold down my pretzel while I painted it.

IMG_0145

3. Once you’ve got even coverage on the pretzel, give it a coat of clear nail polish.

IMG_0150

4. While the nail polish is still wet, sprinkle the pretzel liberally with salt. Don’t worry if you think you have too much on there, you can brush it off later. Let the nail polish dry. Brush off any salt that didn’t stick to the pretzel.

IMG_0152

5. To finish the necklace, give it a few LIGHT coats of shellac. I did three coats. I didn’t take a picture of this moment, but I stuck the toothpick through one of the loops to hold it to the cardboard while I spray painted it from AFAR. If you’re too close to the pretzel when shellacking, you’ll dissolve the salt. If this happens, you can just sprinkle on more salt and start again.

6. Once the shellac dries, you’re ready to start interesting conversations with friends, family, and complete strangers. Have fun!

Polymer Clay Pretzel with Salt

Which is your favorite pretzel?

4 thoughts on “Another Fun Pretzel Necklace–With a Twist (Pun Intended)!

Leave a Reply

