Neoprene Mousepad: The Quickest Craft Ever

About two years ago I bought some neoprene from JoAnn’s red tag fabric pile, not really knowing what to do with it. I was more taken with the colors (pink and teal) and the fact that it was kind of a novelty fabric.

Fast forward to now. I still have that fabric and haven’t really done anything with it, until now. I now feel as if I have a slew of craft ideas for it–which I’m very excited to share with you over these next few weeks.

Today’s neoprene craft is by far the simplest and quickest: a mousepad!

DIY Stamped Neoprene Mousepad

On Friday, did a “spring cleaning” of my desk at work and, upon closer inspection, was reminded of how icky my current mousepad is. Neoprene to the rescue! I can’t wait to swap out my dingy gray one for my pretty pink one on Monday.

DIY Stamped Neoprene Mousepad

Here’s what you’ll need: 

  • Acrylic paint in the color of your choice (I used black)
  • Rubber stamps with simple designs (you can do an image, or initials, or both like I did)
  • Small brush or cotton swab to apply the paint to the stamp
  • 1/4 yard of neoprene
  • Mousepad template
  • Metallic permanent marker
  • Scissors (to round the edges)
  • Rotary cutter and mat

Directions:

  1. Trace the pattern onto the back of the neoprene with the metallic permanent marker.
  2. Cut out your mousepad. Use the rotary cutter to cut out the basic rectangle shape and then round the corners with the scissors.
  3. Stamp your desired image(s) or pattern onto the mousepad.
  4. Let dry overnight.
  5. Apply to desk and be productive 🙂

DIY Stamped Neoprene Mousepad

Stay tuned for more things to do with neoprene.

UPDATE: If you would like your mousepad to have a bit of grip on the bottom, apply a thin layer of rubber cement glue to the back and allow to dry overnight.

Leave a Reply

