iPhone 5 Pouch w/Charger Cord Pocket Tutorial

Well, I joined the 21st century this weekend! I bought my very first smartphone–an iPhone 5 to be exact. I’m pretty geeked about it, although I feel a little in over my head since I’ve been out of the loop when it comes to smartphone technologies. I’m… learning. Luckily my coworkers, friends, and students have been more than eager to tell me which apps to download and how to save battery life.

One tip I immediately took to heart was to NOT buy a phone case from the store. They are waaay too expensive and I can buy one online that is waaay cuter. I ordered this Otter box in AP Pink. While I wait for my case to arrive, I decided to make a temporary one so my phone doesn’t get damaged between now and when I put that crazy bulky case on it.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

I made this case out of white pleather, velcro, and elastic.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

I really like the way this turned out and will have to use it to permanently store my cord and plug.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

I just love the handy elastic storage pocket on the back! Here’s how I made it.

First, you’ll need:

  • iPhone 5 pattern
  • Fabric pieces for pouch (I used pleather/vinyl with a fuzzy back)
  • 1 1/4″ inch of sew-in hook and loop tape (i.e. non sticky back Velcro)
  • 3″ wide elastic
  • Hand sewing needle
  • Heavy-duty thread (to be used throughout the sewing process)
  • Scissors
  • Sewing machine with a heavy duty needle

Directions

1. First cut out your pieces using the pattern.

2. On the front (shorter) piece of vinyl, sew your fuzzy rectangle of Velcro onto the right side of the vinyl where it is indicated on the pattern. It will be 3/4″ down from the top center.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

3. Next we layer the pieces together. First lay the back piece right side up, then place the elastic at the bottom (opposite the rounded edge), and then top with the front piece with wrong side up. Right sides will be together.

Pouch Diagram

4. Sew the bottom together first (to make sure the elastic doesn’t slide around) and then the left and right sides, with a 3/8″ seam allowance. Back-stitch at the top opening and corners. Make sure you don’t sew up the top opening!

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

5. Trim one layer of the seam allowance and clip the corners to reduce bulk.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

6. Turn right side out so the elastic is on the back of the pouch. It’ll be tough, but you can do it! Use a knitting needle or pencil to poke out the corners.

7. Once you’ve turned it right side out, sew your hook pice of velcro to the wrong side of the rounded flap (as indicated on the pattern). It will be 1/2″ down from the top center.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

8. To make the bow, fold the small rectangle into thirds and pinch. Tie the bow together using the heavy duty thread.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

9. Wrap the smallest strip of velcro around where you tied the bow and sew it closed. It doesn’t have to be pretty. Don’t cut the thread.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

10. With the thread and needle still dangling from the bow, hand sew it on top of the velcro for the front flap of the pouch to hide the stitches. Trim any overhang on the sides of the flap, if necessary.

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

Now you’re ready to stow your iPhone in style :-).

iPhone 5 Pouch Tutorial

9 thoughts on “iPhone 5 Pouch w/Charger Cord Pocket Tutorial

  1. Pingback: 15 Beautiful DIY Phone Cases You Can Make At Home With Cheap Materials – Viralyster

  2. Pingback: Faça você mesmo: como criar seus próprios cases e capinhas para seu smartphone

  3. Pingback: Faça você mesmo: como criar seus próprios cases e capinhas para seu smartphone - Boa Informação

  4. Pingback: iPhone : 15 coques à se faire soi-même ! | POM POM COMEDY

  5. Pingback: 15 Awesome DIY Phone Cases You Can Make With Inexpensive, Simple Supplies | United Topics

  6. Pingback: » 10 maravillosas ideas para que hagas tu propio protector de celular

  7. Pingback: 10 maravillosas ideas para que hagas tu propio protector de celular - NOS24.COM

  8. Pingback: How to make my own mobile phone pouch - Resources, Ideas and a great overviewLindobu – Colourful and Fabricy

Leave a Reply

