DIY Braid Spray

One of my favorite summer traditions is getting my hair braided. Nothing is more convenient than having a braided hair style. Not only do I get to sleep in later but I also get a daily confidence boost when it comes to embracing the many options of natural hair prettiness. This summer I went with the popular long Senegalese twists. I LOVE THEM!!

Summer Twists

To keep them moisturized, I was using Infusium 23 that I poured into a spray bottle. Sadly, I ran out. In an effort to save money, and not add to the crazy amount of hair products I have stashed under my sink, I set out to make my own.

I’ve been using this for a month now and love it. I’ll continue using it after I take out my braids for two-strand twists and other hair styles.

Here’s what you’ll need:

DIY Braid Spray

  • Empty spray bottle
  • Avocado oil (or olive, grapeseed, etc.)
  • Shea Moisture Curl and Style Mix (or other moisturizing hair cream)
  • Distilled water
  • Optional: essential oils (I didn’t use any since the Shea Moisture has a pretty distinct fragrance)

Here are your ratios:

1 part moisturizing hair cream

2 parts oil

3- 4 parts water

A few drops of essential oil (optional)

I basically filled the spray bottle as you see below with the Shea Moisture and oil and then topped the bottle off with water.

DIY Braid Spray

Shake well to combine.

DIY Braid Spray

Because this is a mixture of oil and water, this will only keep for about a month. I recommend that you make up a small amount and mix more up as you need it. The spray bottle above lasted about a month for me, with me using it about 5 days a week. Even though there is a preservative in the hair cream, you can’t count on it to preserve your new spray. If you keep it in the fridge, it will last longer. If it starts smelling funny, then it’s time to toss.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “DIY Braid Spray

  1. I really liked having my hair braided in the summers too, but I can’t find anyone who won’t tear my hair out trying to braid it. I did find one place that was decent in that regards but every time I would go in the owner would quote me one price and the next day when I would show up the braider would launch into this whole song and dance about how my hair was so thick and it would cost $40 more. Not good business!

Leave a Reply

